New Zealand's largest cities are Auckland and Wellington in the North Island, and Christchurch in the South Island.

Auckland is by far the biggest city, with around 1.5 million people or one third of New Zealand's population. Wellington is the country's capital, and Christchurch is the largest South Island city, with around 350,000 people.

Explore New Zealand's cities, and see what they're famous for, using the map below. 

plane Find & book flights

Where to Next