School holidays in New Zealand

When are the next school holidays? Plan your next family trip around the dates below.

The New Zealand school year is usually divided into four terms. Between each of the first three terms is a two-week break, followed by a six week summer holiday after term four. 

Term start dates can differ depending on schools and regions, so make sure to check in with your local school for the precise dates.

On this page:
2021 school terms and holidays
2022 school terms and holidays 
Start planning for the school holidays

2021 school terms and holidays

Plan your holidays for the 2021 school year. 

Term one and autumn school holidays

Term one runs between Monday 1 February (at the earliest) and Tuesday 9 February (at the latest) to Friday 16 April. 

During this term, there are several public holidays:

  • Waitangi Day observed on Monday 8 February
  • Good Friday on 2 April
  • Easter Monday on 5 April
  • Easter Tuesday on 6 April.

The autumn school holiday dates are Saturday 17 April to Sunday 2 May (including ANZAC day on 25 April).

Term two and winter school holidays

Term two runs from Monday 3 May to Friday 9 July.

There is one public holiday: Queen’s Birthday on 7 June.

The winter school holiday starts on Saturday 10 July and ends on Sunday 25 July.

Term three and spring school holidays

Term three starts Monday 26 July and ends on Friday 1 October.

School holidays dates are from Saturday 2 October to Sunday 17 October.

Term four and summer holidays

Term four starts on Monday 18 October. All schools will finish for the year no later than Monday 20 December. 

2022 school terms and holidays

Schedule in the term start dates and school holidays for the 2022 school year. 

Term one and autumn school holidays

Term one runs between Monday 31 January (at the earliest) and Tuesday 8 February (at the latest) to Thursday 14 April.

During this term, there are several public holidays: Waitangi Day observed on Monday 7 February and Good Friday on 15 April.

The autumn school holiday dates are from Saturday 16 April (Friday 15 April is Good Friday) to Sunday 1 May (including Easter Monday on 18 April and ANZAC day on 25 April).

Term two and winter school holidays

Term two runs from Monday 2 May to Friday 8 July.

There is one public holiday: Queen’s Birthday on 6 June.

The winter school holiday starts on Saturday 9 July and ends on Sunday 24 July.

Term three and spring school holidays

Term three starts Monday 25 July and ends on Friday 30 September.

School holidays dates are from Saturday 1 October to Sunday 16 October.

Term four and summer holidays

Term four starts on Monday 17 October. All schools finish no later than Tuesday 20 December. After this date, summer holidays run until the start of the school term in 2023. 

Monday 24 October is a public holiday. 

What to do in the next school holidays

Now that you've got the dates sorted, you can start planning your family activities. 

Summer holidays

The summer holidays are the ideal time to embrace water activities, from simply hanging out at the beach to hopping in a jet boat in Queenstown. Or, you could go kayaking in Abel Tasman National Park, or visit Milford Sound and feel refreshing waterfall mist as you take a boat cruise. 

Autumn holidays 

Autumn holidays can be a busy travel time if they coincide with Easter. If you prefer escaping the crowds, why not get off the beaten track in regions such as Taranaki or Tairawhiti

In Gisborne, you can see the autumn colours in the Arbortoreum, or ride the Gisborne City Vintage Railway for stunning coastal views. 

Around New Plymouth, you can visit the scenic Cape Egmont Lighthouse, walk the Coastal Walkway, or visit the free Brooklands Zoo to meet and greet adorable critters such as otters meerkats and monkeys.  

Winter holidays

Take your kids skiing for a fun and active winter holiday. 

In Ruapehu, the whole family will enjoy a trip up the Sky Waka gondola, even if you're not skiers. 

For something more relaxing, you could visit some of the country's best hot pools in top spots such as Hanmer Springs and Rotorua.  

Spring holidays

If you've been hibernating over winter, the spring holidays are a great chance to get active with your family again. The mild weather in most parts of the country makes this the perfect time for exploring short walks.

Spring is also lambing and calving season, so it's an awesome time to visit farm attractions such as the Agrodome in Rotorua.

#DoSomethingNewNZ

spinner Loading

Plan your family holiday