The trilogy of The Hobbit movies will tell the full story of Bilbo Baggins and the part he played in some dangerous adventures.

The Hobbit Trilogy

A prequel to The Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit Trilogy is set 60 years before Frodo embarks on his epic journey, and Peter Jackson’s use of stunning New Zealand landscapes will make the tale all the more enchanting.

To create The Hobbit movies - The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey , The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug , and The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies - Peter Jackson has pulled some content from additional J.R.R Tolkien material. This includes supplementary notes and appendixes published as the conclusion to his The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King novel. Crossing into this unexplored narrative territory allows movie-goers to understand how these furry-footed creatures came to be. 

For Peter Jackson, the land he lives in - his home country of New Zealand - provides the perfect settings to produce moving adaptations of The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit trilogies. After filming the entirety of The Lord of the Rings in New Zealand, Jackson said there would be no reason to look outside the country for film locations for The Hobbit Trilogy as New Zealand already was "the perfect Middle‑earth™".

The scenes in The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings movies aren’t just fleeting glimpses of cinematic fantasy – the locations are the reality of New Zealand’s dramatic landscapes, which visitors can easily experience for themselves.

Hobbiton Movie Set, Waikato

Matamata- the home of the Hobbiton Movie Set

What is a Hobbit?

Hobbits are described by J.R.R Tolkien as uncomplicated and ancient little people, no more than four feet tall. They seldom wear shoes because their feet have tough leathery soles clad in thick, curly hair.

They are shy of ‘Big Folk’ and prefer well-ordered and well-farmed countryside. A typical Hobbit is a happy individual who loves nothing better than a good party with lots of food.

The Shire is one of the places in Hobbiton where the Hobbits of both The Lord of the Rings Trilogy and The Hobbit lived.


When were The Hobbit movies released?

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey - December 14, 2012

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug - December 13, 2013

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies - December 17, 2014

©2013 Warner Bros. Ent.
TM Saul Zaentz Co.

Where to Next